top of page

Present Perfect - just, already, yet, still

just = a short time ago

(only in affirmative sentences, always between the auxiliary verb and the past participle)

A: Would like like something to eat?

B: No, thanks. I've just had dinner.

already = before expected

(only in affirmative sentences, always between the auxiliary verb and the past participle)

Mum: Dinner!

Son: I've already had dinner.

yet = until now

(only in negative sentences and questions, always at the end of them)

I haven't had dinner yet.

Have you had dinner yet?

BONUS

still = continues up to a time

She still hasn't phoned me.

I still haven't had dinner.

They are still learning at school. (the present continuous)

We will still be on holiday. (future simple)

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page