top of page

Conditionals: the first conditional


The form

If + Present Simple, + Will + Infinitive

Will + Infinitive + If + Present Simple (notice that there is no comma in this version)

Very often "if" replaced by words such as: when, until, before, as soon as, after.

After these words we always use Present Simple. Always!

Usage

To talk about real possibilities; something that can actually happen in the future.

Examples

If it rains, I won't go to the park.

If I study today, I'll go to the party tonight.

If I have enough money, I'll buy some new shoes.

She'll miss the bus if she doesn't leave soon.

If I see her, I'll tell her.

If he meets Tom, he'll shout at him.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page